Indigo whole cloth quilt and new/old floor in the sewing room part 1

now I know what those little flags on the hydrants are for.

now I know what those little flags on the hydrants are for.


It’s cold here in Shelburne Falls. Just yesterday it was -6 while I was driving to work.  Lately if it goes up to 20 degrees, I don’t even need a jacket, it feels like Spring is coming.

I am still quilting the multi colored piece I talked about in the last post. Hand quilting. It is taking so long, but I am getting better with every stitch. Still I needed a little pick me up -you know like a piece that would go a bit faster. So into the dye room I went. I had no idea if my indigo pot was still good, I’m so new at this indigo stuff. I scrunched up a piece of handkerchief linen and submerged it. About two minutes later here is what I got.

The light green is turning to dark indigo blue as the air hits it. So cool!

The light green is turning to dark indigo blue as the air hits it. So cool!

one more dip and then into the hot wash with synthrapol.

one more dip and then into the hot wash with synthrapol.

Yes that’s it! A whole cloth quilt just zipped up on the sewing machine! But I need a backing too. Another piece of linen, dyed with procion robin egg blue and golden harvest overdyed for just a few seconds in the indigo vat. about 30 seconds. I am happy.

tho one on the bottom is the one for the back of the quilt.

tho one on the bottom is the one for the back of the quilt.

Look at these great markings I got!

Look at these great markings I got!

I threw it into the washing machine before it had a chance to fully oxidize. Kind of cool what happened.  I can’t wait to make my quilt sandwich.

Peter is peeling away more linoleum in the sewing room.

nice

nice

And we’ve been having our morning coffee right hereback-all

Stay warm!

Stay warm!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indigo whole cloth quilt and new/old floor in the sewing room part 1

  1. Guila Greer says:

    Yummy colors from your Indigo Vat – Can’t wait to see your completed quilt!

  2. pennross says:

    love those colors but question, can you keep the green somehow, or would that have to be another dye? Your home looks very cozy!

    • marjorie says:

      Well the green is just temporary. The vat is green and when you take it out the whole piece is green and turns blue within seconds- except for the part that’s folded inside. So I tried to keep the green by throwing the piece into the washing machine immediately and that’s how I got those markings on the bottom photo. Yes our house is coming along thank you! just got another pile of snow today!

Love to hear from you!

