name that tune

I came home from work tonight and it was still wet! So I hit it with a hairdryer for a few minutes and unwrapped it. I wasn’t too happy. shiborifinThe piece lacked something.  You can see how the pewter never even got to the second layer. So funny it just abruptly stopped where the edge met the first layer.

Well maybe I should have left it another day, or cut off a piece to save but I didn’t do either of those things. Instead I put it into a low water immersion dye bath in the sink in my laundry room in the basement. I put some other fabrics in there too. One of them I didn’t even realize had a tiny white all over print. I used a green blue and then a red brown on top. Threw in some linen too. I’m going to leave them til morning. “I’m only waiting til the morning comes, til the morning comes.” First one who tells me the name of that song, what album it’s from and who sings it gets some of my dyed fabric and a bar of handmade soap. Well?

Until tomorrow then! Have a great night. I’m going to go watch “Persuasion” with Peter. But first I’m going to throw in another color into that dyebath downstairs . . .

 

This entry was posted in arashi shibori, contests and give-aways, friends, hand dyed fabric, handmade soap, linen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to name that tune

  1. Pingback: Lucky me | gurligregersen

  2. nuvofelt says:

    I haven’t forgotten about the recipe – just not had a moment to turn on the computer, which is powered by steam……. Getting ready to teach this weekend, so it will be a couple more days.

  3. marjorie says:

    OK I think we have two winners here!!!!
    Congratulations Vernon and Gurli!!! send me your addresses via my email at marjorie@marjoriemoser.com and I will send you your prizes!!

  4. Vernon says:

    After The Goldrush Young- “‘Til The Morning Comes”.


  5. Till the morning comes with Neil Young
    Happy dyeing!

  6. penny says:

    I’m terrible at song titles and lyrics but I love the way the grey fades from the deeper color. Fun piece!

Love to hear from you!

