Peter’s Quilt

So I gave Peter my whole stash to work with and here is what he came up with-

amazing

amazing

Isn’t it so beautiful?

He designed the pattern and created a program on the computer that would allow him to audition lots of colors and patterns. Then he went through all my hand dyes and found pieces close enough to his design to make him happy and then cut all the pieces one at a time. I sewed each square one at a time, starting with the center. I finally got the hang of it by the last square. He did use one commercial fabric that daughter Kate brought us from Japan.

Bravo Peter! You never stop amazing me!

Here’s a bit about it coming together.

see how he used both back and front of the printed piece from Japan to get the effect he wanted!

see how he used both back and front of the printed piece from Japan to get the effect he wanted!

Here a four squares ready for me to sew.

Here are four squares ready for me to sew. don’t you love that little pile of scraps in the back?

This entry was posted in art quilt, hand dyed fabric, quilting and sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Peter’s Quilt

  1. Wow! What a treasure. Great team work.

  2. Vernon says:

    Sweet!

  3. Pamela says:

    Congratulations on a fab quilt.

  4. pennross says:

    Stunning job! It must be so gratifying to see your work turned into a gorgeous piece. (Btw, I wrote a similar note but I don’t see it. If you stumble across it, sorry for the repeated message. I try to do this by phone at work and often fail.)

    • marjorie says:

      Thanks Penny! I’m loving your rust posts. Is your Uncle’s place near Houston St.?

      • pennross says:

        How did you know? He is on Prince between Mott and Elizabeth.

      • marjorie says:

        I feel like I have seen the rust and metal on brick that you showed in your photo before. Is that possible? Or maybe you told me that. There were always such interesting and wonderful things on the street in that part of town. Lithographers letters and cool artifacts. Peter’s first apartment was on Mott St.! around 1978.lol

  5. Love, love, love it! What a great design to show off your fabulous hand-dyes! Way to go Peter! He inspires me to cut into my hand-dyes! 🙂

  6. Curls & Q says:

    Q – What an amazing quilt! WOW!!!

  7. Lovely fabrics and a beautiful design.

  8. beautiful – thanks!

Love to hear from you!

