more leaves

Today I mixed up a really nice greeeeeen. I used

2T avocado,

1t golden yellow and

1T turquoise

I used a lot of dye because a lot will wash out with the alginate.

all mixed up in 1/2 cup room temp water. I poured about 1/2 cup of my alginate paste into a clean cup and mixed in about 2 T of the dye water. I took some scarves, fabric-both cotton and linen out to the artbarn and set up the vine screen. Right before printing I mixed in about 1/2 t of soda ash into the dye paste because the fabric was not soda soaked. I didn’t use urea-I forgot. so we will see if my vines are all in vain.

I lay down a layer of plastic (clear garbage bag), then fabric then print then plastic and rolled it up. After doing two like this I realized I could just keep piling on and printing without removing the print-just layer the plastic then another scarf or fabric. Of course at this point I am grabbing whatever i can to print. The dye will only last so long with the soda ash -maybe 15 minutes? Then it will begin to fade. I don’t want any to go to waste.

Here they are rolled up

Now to steam them I put them in the car. Since it is a very hot day I’m hoping the inside of the car will generate enough heat. It feels like about 90 degrees outside but I am parked in the shade. Damn!

No more parking places in the sun on my street. My kingdom for a sunny driveway!!!

 

I’ll let you know how it all comes out. Whatever happens, I had the bestest funnest time ever printing these!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to more leaves

  1. Florence says:

    Can’t wait to see how it comes out. Have a wonderful creative week.
    Regards Florence x

  2. Karen says:

    Feel free to park on my street. I came out of a two hour sewing guild meeting this morning to find the drink I left in my car nearly boiling! That is middle Tennessee, USA in August for you!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Curls & Q says:

    Thanks for the recipe! 😎 I have to dye standing in the sun, so I’ll wait to try this. 😎

    • marjorie says:

      Can’t wait to see! I’ve been making your lemonade for everyone at my house and they love it and it has really been the best thing to drink in this heat! delicious! Got a big carton of meyer lemons at costco yum!

Love to hear from you!

