lost and found

I got lost. I can’t explain it really.

I was getting my big quilt ready. I went to JoAnn’s in staten Island and got a queen size batting. I also bought some of their solids for the back. I came home, washed the backing fabric, sewed it together to fit and made my sandwich. I looked down at it and I kind of froze up. I just couldn’t work on it anymore. I just didn’t like it. I just completely stopped working. I got caught up with the laundry and went through stuff and cleared out stuff day after day after day. I made dinner, I went grocery shopping, I vacuumed and got rid of furniture I hated. I washed windows updated my resume and turned 55. I still didn’t want to work on anything fiber. One day during all this I was with Laura in a used clothing store we both love in Brooklyn called Meshmar. I think that’s what it’s called. I found this beautiful piece of silk. It was woven and there were 5 yards in the piece for $29. Laura encouraged me to buy it. When I got it home, I opened it up and there was a tag inside that said it is Tibetan silk. It really is beautiful.

I cut up the big quilt into smaller pieces. Here is the first of the series with the blue silk used for the border.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to lost and found

  1. gonerustic says:

    I guess the quilt was waiting for you to find that silk! Nothing could happen until then … =D

  2. tangerinekey says:

    I love the blue with it!

  3. Donna says:

    It looks stunning!!

Love to hear from you!

