middlebury morning-shower cap dyeing

Walking around Middlebury, here for the college tour with Laura, I found some very nice specimens of Queen Ann’s Lace. It is one of my favorite flowers. It grew all over my childhood town in New Jersey. It was thought of as a weed by most, but I was always in love with it. Every flower has a tiny little black center and if you know about flowers you probably know why that is and I would like to know too so please respond with that info if you have it.

I wanted to somehow use the flowers in the dye process, so i just folded the white pima cotton and tucked the flowers into the folds. No container to dye in and I am too tired anyway.

Woke up at 5 am looked out the window-what a gray day! Shower cap! (I always do my best thinking in the AM). so I waited until 7 and went to the lobby to get coffee. Drank it down-ah now I have something to mix the blue-gray dye in.

Got some dye in the sink again and it stained!!!!

Sensodyne to the rescue!  

Pack it up because there is no way I can pour this into the sink. Almost forgot the soda ash! Thank goodness I remembered at the last minute.  Laura came out of the other bathroom (the room had two-fancy that) and said, “Mama did you dye something this morning?   All right!” Yes I’m all right when I dye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear from you!

