Indigo-sort of indigo

I don’t know much about indigo dyeing. I have heard it is complicated, but very very satisfying. I bought some procion indigo but it’s not the same thing as indigo dyeing. I had a piece of icy blue linen laying around that I bought in Jackson Heights about 2 years ago. It’s a beautiful color and we ended up painting our hall to match it. I’ve been wanting to do something with it for a while. I decided to use a simple form of arashi shibori where the cloth is wrapped around a pole and then bound with string or thread. So I wrapped it and bound it and squeezed it down the pole most of the way last night. First I washed it with Synthrapol. It was wet and so difficult to work with. Peter helped me and we got it most of the way last night like I said and then I left it all day in front of the fan. It was so much easier to squish down when it was dry. Then I mixed up the indigo procion in a big bucket and left the pole in there while Jonny and I went to get some dinner. So now here I am, I took it out of the bucket and I am afraid to unwrap it. Maybe not afraid of what will happen but that I will be disappointed. I soaked it so long that now I’m worried it won’t have any markings left from the sinew I used to bind it. I’m gonna untie it now. Well here goes.

It’s subtle -in a beautiful calm sort of way. Kind of a surprise as I unwrapped it-it’s really subtle.  I sort of wanted (expected?) a big bash and I got gentle sigh. I’m not sure if I am disappointed or not. I think not, I could use a little calm these days.

I put up another dye pot-red gold bronze and purple. I want to make another set of napkins. I think it came out pretty nice. It’s in the washing machine now with synthrapol. Washing with Synthrapol gets rid of the loose dye molecules and makes the colors wash-fast so they don’t bleed when you wash the cloth later. I’m going to post the photos tomorrow-g’night

LOVELY

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indigo-sort of indigo

  1. A Dye Fan says:

    love both these pieces- so different! what do you plan to do with them next??

    • marjorie says:

      Thank you! They are really different, aren’t they? I’d like to make some kind of clothing out of the blue one-a dress or blouse. The pink/red one I’ve printed with discharge paste an all over branch/leaf design-I will post a photo. I think it came out pretty sweet. -would love to hear your thoughts about it.

Love to hear from you!

