my blog is born

In January of 2009 I became obsessed with dyeing cloth. I hurt my back (actually back-stabbed at work, you know how it is sometimes), and was flat on my back for 3 days. I started watching youtube videos about Arimatsu, the shibori capital of Japan. I was intrigued and on the third day I went to the hardware store and bought a large piece of PVC pipe- two actually and began to create arashi shibori silk pieces in my bathtub. I am a textile artist- I paint, screenprint, dye, discharge, batik and sew. I made my living this way for about 20 years and got away from it. Now I’m back and I’m making a commitment to myself to dye or print at least one piece everyday for the next year. That means wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, part of my day everyday will be devoted to my magnificent obsession with cloth. And I’m gonna write about it here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to my blog is born

  1. sally says:

    you rock, marjie!!!

  2. Hey thanks! me too.

  3. Peter says:

    I’m diggin’ the dyein’

Love to hear from you!

